Roasted Cauliflower with Olives

I have been experiencing post-holiday cooking burnout. It actually started on Christmas Eve, when I was overly tired after baking tons of cookies and other food. Our fish feast was about to begin when I mistakenly poured homemade eggnog into the shallot cream sauce for the mussels. It was salvageable, but just barely. It was a huge disappointment for me but hilarious for my family, who will never let me live that one down. My kitchen appliances have had a workout, too. This morning the microwave caught fire and is now history. This afternoon the oven door broke a few minutes after I busted the lid on my slow cooker (I will be doing a bit of shopping this weekend for replacements). The last few weeks I have been focusing on vegetables and simple salads, which is what one does in January after the gluttony of November and December. One of my simple vegetable recipes is this cauliflower dish. It does not require much work but is full of flavor.

Roasted Cauliflower with Olives
1 medium head cauliflower, cut into florets
3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper
1/4 c. pitted kalamata olives, chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place cut cauliflower on baking sheet. Drizzle with 2 Tablespoons of the olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Stir to coat evenly with oil. Roast for 35-40 minutes, stirring occasionally until the cauliflower is lightly browned and fork tender. Transfer the cauliflower to a serving dish. Drizzle with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil, then sprinkle with chopped olives and toss. Serves 4.

20140109-200732.jpg

This entry was posted in Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

