Carrot and Radish Tzatziki

Several weeks ago I learned, through another local blogger, about a new farm in our town. It is called La Nay Ferme and they have started Provo’s first CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program. I immediately signed up for their spring subscription and am thrilled with the fresh and flavorful produce. My husband and I have a garden, but the space is limited and La Nay Ferme grows some things that we are not able to or have room to grow. Each week I look forward to new and interesting items in my CSA bag. Yesterday, I got some spring salad greens, radishes, carrots, edible pansies, strawberries, green onions and broccoli micro greens. I had an unopened container of Greek yogurt and decided that making a tzatziki incorporating the radishes, carrots and the broccoli micro greens would be an interesting version of one of my favorite dips. The recipe has been adapted from Joanne Weir. The fresh radishes had very little peppery bite and the carrots were sweet with light lemon overtones which complimented the yogurt nicely. The micro greens had a mild herbal quality that went well with the mint and dill. The tzatziki took on a slightly pink tinge and will look pretty on the appetizer table tomorrow when the family is together to celebrate Mother’s Day. I want to wish everyone a Happy Mother’s Day and acknowledge my own mother, who has always been my best friend and a fabulous mom.

Carrot and Radish Tzatziki
3 c. whole milk plain Greek yogurt, drain for 2 hours
2/3 c. grated radishes
2/3 c. grated carrots
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
3 Tbsp. brown rice vinegar
2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp. sugar or more to taste
2 Tbsp. chopped broccoli micro greens
2 tsp. freshly chopped mint
1 tsp. freshly chopped dill

In a bowl combine the yogurt with the radishes, carrots and garlic. Stir. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to blend. Adjust seasoning to your taste. Chill 2 hours before serving with pita chips or fresh pita triangles. Makes 3 cups or enough for 6 people as an appetizer.

20120512-160418.jpg

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carrot and Radish Tzatziki

  1. wendycbutler says:

    Judy, I’m excited to try this. I have not met a tzatziki I didn’t like. I also love the glaze on the bowl. Is it from Kyoto?

Leave a Reply

