Five Vegetable Purée

I will admit to having a tendency towards food hoarding. I love seeing a full refrigerator and a well-stocked pantry and freezer. But sometimes I go a little overboard in the produce section of the grocery store and come home with more vegetables than I can use in a reasonable time frame. I try not to be wasteful so yesterday I went through the refrigerator and pantry to see what needed using up. I found leeks, shallots, garlic, red onions, white onion, scallions, fennel, parsnips, turnips, carrots, baby bell peppers, kale, escarole, Savoy cabbage, cauliflower, potatoes and Italian flat-leaf parsley. With my husband’s help, I roasted the peppers, blanched escarole and kale for pasta dishes later in the week, and made soup. I still had plenty of root vegetables left so I made this purée. Be sure to cut the vegetables the same size for more even cooking. My children ate it without complaint which made me feel like a decent mother because I was able to sneak 5 vegetables into their dinner without them realizing it. It isn’t as thick as mashed potatoes and not as watery as some purees. It is very good with roasted meat. You could add some garlic and additional herbs for a possible pasta dish. I also spread some on a corn tortilla and warmed it for a little healthy mid-afternoon snack.

5 Vegetable Purée
2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
2 large leeks, chopped then rinsed
4 parsnips, peeled and chopped
2 large turnips, peeled and chopped
2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
2 large Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and chopped
1/2-1 tsp. kosher salt
4 c. chicken stock
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
2 Tbsp. butter
1 Tbsp. chopped Italian flat leaf parsley

Heat olive oil in a 5 quart pot. Add leeks and sauté 5 minutes until leeks begin to soften. Add parsnips, turnips, carrots and potatoes. Add salt and cook 3 minutes. Add chicken stock and thyme and bring to a boil. Cover and cook on medium heat 15-20 minutes until vegetables are fork tender. The broth will look be thicker from the starch in the vegetables. Place a bowl underneath the colander to catch the remaining liquid if you want to save it for soup (which I did). There should be less than 1 c. liquid left. Drain vegetables in the colander. Then return them to the cooking pot. Use an immersion blender to purée then add butter to the vegetables. I left a few chunky bits for texture. Fold chopped parsley into the mixture then serve. Serves 6-8.

20120419-190306.jpg

This entry was posted in Thanksgiving, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Vegetable Purée

  1. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss! and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Leave a Reply

