Blood Orange and Roasted Plum Sorbet

The first time I ever tasted a blood orange was in Italy in 1987. I immediately fell in love with the combination of orange and raspberry overtones and the gorgeous deep red color. I also could not get enough of Sanguinella, blood orange soda, and I occasionally make my own version of it. The best blood orange sorbet I have ever eaten comes from The Bent Spoon in Princeton, New Jersey, one of my first stops whenever I go home to visit. This sorbet is tangy and refreshing. I usually make it with fresh-squeezed blood orange juice, but I had purchased some blood orange purée and wanted to try it. I also had some Chilean black plums that my husband brought home that were ripening on the counter and didn’t want them to go to waste, so I combined the two. It is a nice, complementary combination. I like the tartness, but if you want it sweeter just add more sugar to the simple syrup mixture.

Blood Orange and Roasted Plum Sorbet
6 ripe black plums, quartered
1 Tbsp. orange juice
1 Tbsp. honey
2 c. water
1-1/3 c. sugar or more to taste
1 c. blood orange purée + 1 c. water, or 2 c. blood orange juice (if using juice don’t dilute with 1 c. water)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place plums quarters on a baking sheet and add orange juice and honey. Toss to coat plums. Roast for 25 minutes until plums are soft and the skin begins to come away from the flesh. Remove from oven and allow plums to cool slightly then peel off the skins. While plums are roasting make a simple syrup by combining 2 cups water and the sugar in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and let boil 2 minutes until sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool slightly. Mix blood orange purée with 1 cup water. Stir to combine. Add blood orange mixture to the simple syrup. Stir until combined. Purée the plums with 1/2 c. of the blood orange mixture. You want about 1 cup of plum puree. Strain the purée and add to the blood orange mixture. You should have 5 cups of liquid to make the sorbet. Refrigerate at least 2-3 hours until cold. Place mixture in an ice cream maker and process according to manufacturer’s instructions. Serves 6.

20120318-171028.jpg

This entry was posted in Desserts, Fruit, Ice Cream. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blood Orange and Roasted Plum Sorbet

  1. staceysnacks says:

    Judy,
    I have to agree with you……not only do I adore blood oranges, but the Bent Spoon sorbet is the BEST I have ever tasted. Last year’s blueberry ginger was out of this world!

    Stacey

    • Stacey, thank you SO MUCH for looking at my blog. You are lucky to live within driving distance of The Bent Spoon. Blueberry ginger sorbet sounds delicious; I love anything blueberry. I hope it is available the next time I go home because I definitely want to try it.

Leave a Reply

