Pandoro Bread Pudding

Pandoro is an Italian Christmas sweet bread, and each year I buy one for the Holidays. But, with all the homemade baked goods at Christmastime, we rarely consume an entire pandoro, so sometime in January I either need to freeze it or use it rather than let it go to waste. One year I completely forgot about the pandoro and I had an entire unopened bread to consume. Since one of my favorite winter desserts is bread pudding, I decided to try making one out of pandoro. It was delicious, and has become a family favorite that I now make every year. You can use plain pandoro, but my favorite is the Balocco brand Lemon Doro (Lemon Pandoro). I like to remove the crust from the pandoro before I cube it for the best flavor and texture.

Pandoro Bread Pudding
5 c. cubed crustless pandoro
2 c. heavy cream
2 c. milk
5 large eggs, lightly beaten
1-1/4 c. sugar
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
zest of 1 medium orange
1 Tbsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9×13 pan and set aside. In a large bowl combine cream, milk, eggs, sugar, salt, orange zest, vanilla and spices. Mix until eggs are thoroughly incorporated. Add the cubed pandoro and let sit 15-20 minutes in the custard, stirring occasionally to soften the bread. Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 40-45 minutes until the bread pudding is puffed and golden and cooked in the middle. Cool on wire rack. Serve with sweetened whipped cream. Serves 12.

20120130-140953.jpg

This entry was posted in Breads, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pandoro Bread Pudding

  1. Krista says:

    I’m dying to try this. I’m going to look for the clearance Pandoro tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

