Roasted Okra with Baby Bell Peppers

Okra is one of my favorite vegetables. Some shy away from it because, when boiled, it has a somewhat slimy and gelatinous texture. It is very good fried, which eliminates the slimy consistency. Sprinkle it with salt, black pepper, and some cumin, and you have a nice
Indian-inspired dish. But my favorite way to eat okra is roasted whole in the oven with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper. It is so simple, yet has both sweetness and a tender texture. I add thickly-sliced baby bell peppers to it; the colors and flavors blend very well.

Every year we have family for New Year’s Dinner. In keeping with Italian tradition, we will have pork as a symbol of prosperity for the coming year. We are making pork cutlets (see my earlier post for the recipe) along with this okra dish and potatoes. My husband will make black eyed peas mixed with greens, another good luck food from his Southern grandmother.

For Christmas my husband gave me a photo album filled with family pictures of our holiday celebrations, vacations, and our children’s activities from 2011. Looking back, I realize it has been a great year, and we have so much to be thankful for. What has made it such a great year has been time with my family, sitting down to delicious and nourishing meals and holiday celebrations with people I love, having the health to care for one another, living in a place of beauty, and having the freedom to pursue the things that have meaning and interest to me. These are gifts that I hope will be extended to more people around the world in years to come.

Roasted Okra with Baby Bell Peppers
1-1/2 lbs. fresh whole okra
1-1/2 c. thickly sliced baby bell peppers, seeded
3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/8 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Rinse okra and let sit to dry on paper towels. Place okra on a baking sheet along with the pepper slices. Sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss to coat evenly with oil. Roast for 25-30 minutes until okra is fork tender but still holds a firm shape. Serves 4.

20111231-090036.jpg

This entry was posted in Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Okra with Baby Bell Peppers

  1. I will have to try this. I have had fred okra and it was okay. I would get these really large okras at the farmer’s marker in Phoenx and would chop them up and roast them, but I do not know why I never did it whole. I think I wll be picking some up this week! Happy New Year Judy!

  2. Happy New Year Danielle. For a long time I chopped okra also, then one day I was in a hurry and didn’t bother and the results were delicious and easy. I am enjoying your blog posts, especially New Years Eve at Uncle Frank’s. I miss him and all of you, especially during the holidays.

  3. Paul Hanslick says:

    Who is your photographer? They’re fantastic!

    • Hi Paul. Thanks for taking the time to look at my blog. Scott has taken the majority of the photos. He is teaching me and I am slowly catching on. The roasted okra and peppers photo I took. I hope you are doing well. Judy

Leave a Reply

