Happy Holidays

I want to wish all of my family, friends and readers a very Merry Christmas. We will celebrate with my family on Christmas Eve and my husband’s family on Christmas Night. My children are so excited.

My preparations are almost complete. The shopping and wrapping are done. All that is left to do is to top the rainbow cookies with chocolate and bake off the cucidati dough. I made the dough and filling yesterday. I will bake one more batch of Sicilian cookies. Tonight I will make the tomato cream sauce for ravioli and the shallot cream sauce for mussels. Tomorrow morning I will make mango mousse to take to my in-laws on Christmas Day.

I had a friend ask me to post this year’s Italian Christmas Eve Menu, so here it is.

First Course: Fish and Arancini

steamed jumbo crab legs
shrimp
steamed mussels with two sauces (shallot cream sauce and marinara; see beginning post)
broiled scallops with gremolata
arancini (Sicilian rice balls stuffed with cheese)
baguettes

Second Course: Pasta

homemade cheese and veal ravioli with tomato cream sauce (my sister makes the ravioli)

Third Course: Meat

my mother’s homemade Italian sausage with onions, peppers, and mushrooms
orange and pomegranate salad

Dessert Course:

cheesecake
cannolis
chocolate mousse
cookies

20111223-085857.jpg

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. Sue bandley says:

    Delicious as always. Thank you for posting the Christmas Menu. You teach me so much. I appreciate your recipe’s so much.

  2. Pingback: Making Homemade Italian Sausage/Sausage with Potatoes, Peppers, Onions, and Mushrooms | Judy's Culinaria

Leave a Reply

