Apricot Mint Yogurt Dip

I recently learned about a new Mediterranean/Middle Eastern market in the area. I went there this weekend and had a great time loading my cart with dried figs, fava beans, Lebanese pickled turnips, yogurt, fresh mint and dill, and lavash.

When I got home from my shopping excursion I wanted to make a dip to go with the lavash. I had chopped dried apricots and yogurt on the counter and decided to experiment. I remembered a recipe for a yogurt apricot dip with garlic from Diane Kochilas’ book Meze. I used that idea and came up with this simple but flavorful dip. It is both sweet and savory. My husband toasted a bit of the lavash, which added a nice crunch; I ate my lavash untoasted. This would make an easy appetizer for a holiday party.

Apricot Mint Yogurt Dip
1 c. plain whole milk Greek yogurt
1/2 c. chopped dried apricots
1 Tbsp. chopped fresh mint
2 tsp. fresh orange juice
1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 tsp. sugar
1/4 tsp. grated orange zest
1/4 tsp. freshly ground cardamom
1/8 tsp. kosher salt
1 pkg. fresh lavash

In a mixing bowl combine all ingredients except lavash to make a dip. Taste and correct the seasoning if necessary. Place in a serving bowl. Cut lavash into 3×3 squares and serve alongside
the dip. Serves 6.

20111203-224527.jpg

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

