Eggnog

This is my favorite eggnog recipe. It is rich and thick, very much like an English drinking custard. It needs to sit overnight so the flavors can develop. I used to thin it with milk, but now I leave it thick and enjoy this once a year indulgence. A couple of years ago I made this for a Christmas party I hosted for my husband’s colleagues. It was a big hit. Once you begin making your own eggnog you can never go back to the store-bought version. You can use any leftover eggnog as a base to make ice cream or pie. The original recipe came from Gourmet Magazine. You will need a candy thermometer for accurate results.

Eggnog
8 c. half and half
2 c. heavy cream
1-1/2 c. sugar
18 large egg yolks
2 Tbsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg or to taste
1 c. or more whole milk to thin (optional)

Combine half and half, heavy cream, sugar and egg yolks in a 5-quart heavy bottom pot. Attach a candy thermometer to your pot. Cook over medium heat, and continue beating slightly and stirring until it begins to thicken and candy thermometer registers 170 degrees (takes 8-10 minutes). Remove custard from heat. Strain, then pour into a large bowl and let cool to lukewarm, stirring occasionally. Add vanilla and nutmeg. Chill covered overnight. Just before serving check to see if you need more nutmeg and possibly a bit of milk to thin to desired consistency. Makes roughly 20 (6 oz.) servings.

20111127-203600.jpg

This entry was posted in Christmas, Drinks, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggnog

  1. Krista says:

    Hi Judy,
    I cannot thank you enough for posting this recipe. I made it for Christmas and it is TO DIE FOR! I don’t even want to spoil it with brandy/rum. It is luscious. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Hope you have a Happy 2013!

    • Krista,
      I am so happy to know you made and liked the eggnog. I appreciate your taking the time to write to me. I make a batch for Thanksgiving and then more to carry us through the rest of the holiday. Best wishes for a happy and prosperous New Year.

Leave a Reply

