Chili Peach Jam

The cool down has begun so we have been harvesting the garden. My husband planted several different kinds of chili peppers this year. The Hungarian wax peppers were so prolific that we got more than 50 peppers off of one plant. Time to make chili peach jam. My husband likes it quite fiery with the seeds in it and I like it mild, seedless, with more peachy overtones. Below are both versions. Chili peach jam is a nice accompaniment to roast pork or chicken. It makes a good dip with cream cheese and crackers too.

Chili Peach Jam – Fiery Version
2 c. peeled and chopped peaches
1/2 lb. unseeded, stemmed hot chili peppers (4 Hungarian wax, 8 Serranos, 7 Bolivian Rainbows)
1 c. white vinegar
1/2 c. water
1 (1-3/4 oz.) oz. box pectin
6 c. sugar

In a food processor puree 1-1/2 c. chopped peaches. Add peppers and puree. Transfer mixture into a heavy bottomed pot. Add remaining 1/2 c. chopped peaches, vinegar, water and pectin. Mix well and bring to a rolling boil, stirring constantly. Boil 5 minutes to soften the chili peppers. Add sugar and return to a rolling boil. Boil 1 minute. Pour into 6 clean and sterilized half pint jars. Process in a water bath canner for 20 minutes. Makes 6 half pint jars.

Mild Chili Peach Jam for Wimps Like Me
3 c. peeled and chopped peaches
1-1/2 c. seeded, stemmed and chopped chili peppers (5 Hungarian Wax, 6 Serranos)
1 c. white vinegar
1 (1-3/4 oz.) box pectin
6 c. sugar

In a food processor puree 2 cups chopped peaches. Add stemmed and seeded chili peppers and puree. Transfer mixture to a heavy bottomed pot. Add remaining 1 c. chopped peaches, vinegar and pectin. Bring to a rolling boil, stirring constantly and boil for 3 minutes to soften chili peppers. Add sugar and return to a rolling boil for 2 minutes. Pour into 7 clean and sterilized half pint jars. Process in a water bath canner for 20 minutes. Makes 7 half pint jars.

This entry was posted in Fruit, Jams and Jellies, preserving. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chili Peach Jam

  1. danielle librera says:

    I know this sounds crazy but jarring is something that I have not had a lot of exprience with. I think I will be trying this one though. i will let you know when I do.

  2. Dave Biasi says:

    Sounds very interesting. I want to taste some.
    In Veneto, they have a jelly what has a sweet mustard base to it, with candied apricot, or pear chunks in it. It grows on you very fast
    I will bring some back from my next Italy trip or see if I have some for you to try.
    The mustard is not hot, it just has a great mild taste.

    I am really into the Italian Anchovies. I can eat them straight out of the jar. I bring them home as well.
    Dave Biasi

  3. Joe Miller says:

    Nice!!!!! I love it. : D

  4. Joanne Bunnell says:

    This recipe was great for a beginning. Thank you

  5. Melisa says:

    I had some leftover canned peaches that I wasn’t sure what to do with and I came across your recipe. I changed it a bit, I used five cup of canned drained peaches, 20 small hawaiian chili peppers, 3 1/2 oz of gelatin, and kept the rest the same. I blended all the peaches and the chilies added them to my dutch oven, then added the vinegar and water. Brought it to a boil and then added the sugar. It came out PERFECT!! Thank you so much for this! I’m going to make this for family and friends for Christmas!! Much thanks from the island of Oahu! Aloha!

Leave a Reply

