Watermelon Lime Cooler

The local watermelons finally hit the stands this week. I love cold watermelon slices on a hot summer day. It is so refreshing. This is an easy drink. I first tasted watermelon agua fresca in Santa Fe about ten years ago and came home determined to try it myself. The hardest part is making sure you have removed the seeds from the melon. I have tried this with seedless melon, but I think you get a more intense melon flavor when you buy a regular melon and remove the seeds yourself. This drink also looks lovely and inviting in a clear glass or pitcher. It can be made with cantaloupe or honeydew also.

6 c. seeded and chopped watermelon
1/4 c. sugar
Zest and juice of 1 medium Persian lime
6 ice cubes plus more for serving

In a blender combine melon, sugar, lime juice and zest. Blend until smooth. Add ice cubes and blend until frothy. Serve over ice. Makes 5 servings.

This entry was posted in Drinks, Fruit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Watermelon Lime Cooler

  1. Martin Earl says:

    Yum. Just yum. reminds me of getting Arepas in L.A.

    • Yes Martin. The Arepas place in LA made delicious fruit drinks. I still need to figure out how they made their bread pudding. Maybe that should be a future post. I will have to try it when you are home and you can tell me if I got it right.

  2. rae mercadante says:

    I love watermelon! must try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

