Passion Fruit 1 – Ice Cream

Yesterday we attended my father-law’s 85th birthday. He lives a hundred miles away, and on the way up to his party we stopped at a restaurant supply company. I haven’t been there for at least 10 years. My husband suggested that we go as a family, and I will definitely be going again soon.

I love kitchen stores, bookstores, and Christmas shops. I am not much of a shopper, but I do have a weakness for those places. My kids loved the restaurant supply store. They naturally liked all the party items: cupcake liners, sprinkles, etc. I liked the extracts and kitchen gadgets. But my husband was drawn to the frozen purees in the corner of the store. They had papaya, mango, prickly pear, lychee, pear, and passion fruit. One of his favorite fruits is passion fruit. When we go out to dinner and there is a dessert containing passion fruit, I know that is what he will order.

So we came home with a variety of items: hazelnut oil, anise oil, rum syrup, parchment sheets, and a 30-oz. frozen container of passion fruit puree. The puree is made by the Perfect Puree Of Napa Valley (you can find them at http://www.perfect puree.com). It is an excellent product. I have been looking for a good quality, locally available product for several years without any luck.

I had never really tasted a passion fruit dessert until I had a cheesecake while vacationing in Hawaii. It was so delicious I have wanted to recreate it ever since. It was bursting with tart, tropical, citrusy overtones. Sometimes, when I try something exotically delicious, the memory stays with me and I have got to eventually try to duplicate it at home.

A portion of the passion fruit puree container had defrosted when we arrived home last night, so this afternoon I have been experimenting with it. I had a large container of heavy cream that needed to be used up so I tried ice cream. It turned out well and thought I would share the recipe.

The ice cream contains one uncooked egg. I buy my eggs from a local organic farmer and I have never had a problem, but if you have a safety concern, cook the custard first. I put all the ingredients in the blender, then use my Donvier ice cream freezer to freeze it. The ice cream is very rich and smooth, 100% cream.

I always have limes in the house. I like to buy small sweet limes from my local Mexican market. They are less astringent than the Persian variety. If you only have access to Persian limes, reduce the amount of zest and juice according to your taste.

Passion Fruit Lime Ice Cream
1 large egg
Pinch of salt
1/2 c. passion fruit puree
1-1/4 c. sugar
Zest of 1 key lime
1 Tbsp. key lime juice
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2-1/2 to 3 c. heavy cream

Place one egg in a blender and blend for 1 minute until the egg is foamy. Add salt, fruit puree, and sugar. Blend until smooth. Add lime zest, lime juice, and vanilla. Blend until smooth. Add heavy cream (you can use some whole milk if you think it is too rich) and blend until it is smooth and just begins to thicken. Pour into an ice cream freezer and process according to manufacturer’s instructions. Makes 1 quart.

20110731-043321.jpg

Passion Fruit Lime Ice Cream

This entry was posted in Desserts, Fruit, Ice Cream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

